How to subtitle? Well I just don’t know!

Posted on April 3, 2017. Filed under: Eci834, Technology |

I had quite the experience trying to learn how to subtitle a video I had made with Tellagami. By watching YouTube music videos, you would think it should be no problem at all! Well, I was humbled to say the least! I tried two different software platforms, and couldn’t figure out either! After at least 3 hours of trying, I ended up going to a platform I was familiar with and just making it work.

Maybe someone knows what I was doing wrong, and wants to comment below? That would be awesome!

Here’s my journey…

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “How to subtitle? Well I just don’t know!”

RSS Feed for Danielle's blog Comments RSS Feed

Danielle, I enjoyed your Telegami, it is always disappointing when we want something simple to work and it turns out to be incredibly difficult. i like the look of the Teligami videos and plan to incorporate some into my classroom in the future. Last year I used Powtoon and ran into difficulties, I emailed the company and they responded very quickly and helped me sort out my problem.

Nicely done, Danielle! Good subtitling is an art. I know my office looked into it a few years ago and even talked with the Accessibility Centre. Basically it came down to if you want accuracy, you need to be doing it manually because most audio-reading programs have problems. I guess it depends on what you’re expecting for subtitling. if you want an actual subtitle track that can be turned on and off, then you would want to use subtitle software. If you want it on automatically, then that’s another option. I found a list of subtitle softwares that were totally different: https://videoconverter.wondershare.com/subtitle/subtitle-maker.html From the looks of them, they are all about manually creating the subtitle track/file and matching the audio to the right point in the visuals and the audio tracks. Until we get better voice recognition software and this sort of thing isn’t viewed as a great way to cash in (because a lot of accessibility software is highly expensive, even if it’s something that should be becoming more affordable after all the years…). But I think what you did works well.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

