Genius Hour Resources from ISTE 2015

Posted on June 30, 2015. Filed under: Genius Hour, Grade 1 & 2 |

I just finished presenting on Genius Hour in the primary classroom at ISTE 2015, and it was such an honour to tell everyone about this amazing new educator movement! I’m not sure what I expected a poster session presentation to be like, but it was kind of intense! I really feel like my Genius Hour experience is a story, and people kept stopping by halfway through my story! I didn’t know if I should re-start, or jump around, talk to the new people, or the people who had been there for a while! What a learning experience! So I apologize if you stopped by and my presentation seemed disjointed! …It was.

I am going to post the resources I talked about in one place (this post) so you can see the tools that go into my Genius Hours.

My ISTE Keynote in a PDF:

Genius Hour

The apps we use throughout GH:

Please visit my teaching website and click on “Apps We Use” to see some of the collaborative apps I mentioned in my session. These were used for the students to brainstorm ideas in real time about what their project would be about. When you click on the picture of the app, it will take you directly to the iTunes store to download it onto your device.

Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 4.20.13 PM

The research stage:

Ask an expert!! My biggest suggestion to teachers today was to move from teacher to facilitator.  Use your time to find experts for your students.  When my students wanted to learn about Monster High, I thought it was going to be one of “those” projects. I was wrong. William Lau, the director, agreed to answer some of my student’s questions. Here is some example of how awesome our experts can really be!

Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 4.27.52 PM

aniamtors 1anim 2 anim direction and supervisingdreditor imagingmodeling production storyboard0246_001-2

Presentation Stage

During the presenting stage, students use all sorts of apps. (Check my teaching website out to find those!) The app I used to live stream my student’s projects so parents could watch from work or from home is Bambuser. It stores the videos on its website so they can be re-visited at anytime. Best part about this? You can get your students to go back and use their highest level thinking skills to analyze their own presentation.

bambuser

Finished their presentation

When the students finish, I allow them to work on Makerspace. Our classroom Makerspace just uses recycled materials from my home, and whatever the students want to bring or donate. Click on the ThingLink below to get an understanding on what some of those things are:

Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 5.00.54 PM

Read and listen to this CBC article to hear how our class does Makerspace!

Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 4.42.38 PM

Still have questions? Please feel free to tweet me @mrsmaley or follow what my students are doing @mrsmaleysclass

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

