The future in 10 years

Posted on April 12, 2014. Filed under: cultural, educational, Grade 1 & 2 |

I took part in a school design process about a month ago, and I have to say, my favourite part of the whole week was when the facilitator basically let us dream big and come up with our perfect school.

20140412-144132.jpg
Well today I have decided to dream big and write a post about what I think technology/life is going to look like in 10 years. When I was a kid I used to joke about answering the phone and seeing the person on a tv screen. Uh… Can you say FaceTime? Or Skype? That dream/joke is now a reality, and I thought it was laughable! So in this post I am going to dream as big as I can and talk about some possibly “laughable” technology that I would love to have some day. In 10 years I will get my clone to come back and check this post and see if any came true πŸ™‚

20140412-144421.jpg
1) Robots. I already have a robot vacuum cleaner- so I can’t see it being that far off. I think that in 10 years there will be robot maids. The Jetsons totally knew what they were talking about. I bet there will be robots to cook and clean for you and maybe even do the laundry!

20140412-144542.jpg
2) I think all bulletin boards/ posters are going to be digital. Sometimes I think it would be easier in my classroom if I didn’t have to staple all the kid’s work to the wall. We are already into digital portfolios, so I think the next schools are going to have digital bulletin boards too. Side note: as I was looking for a picture to put with this one- I found out that this already is a real thing apparently…

20140412-144805.jpg
3) I really think all shopping will be done through phones or mobile devices. I can’t see people carrying big wallets with cash/member cards/etc. I love paying at Starbucks with my Starbucks app and getting rewards right on the phone. I feel like most stores will go that route. But who knows what type of stores there will even be! Maybe everything will be online shopping!

20140412-144924.jpg
*I am having a hard time really thinking out of the box here. Everything I feel like I am suggesting is already almost possible. I want to think of the “impossible,” and that way if it comes true, it will be so much better!
5) I think people will be able to teleport… Or somehow be in a new place doing something without spending 30 hours on a plane. I’m not going to suggest HOW that is going to happen because I have no idea but somehow it will be possible.

20140412-145140.jpg
6) I think body image will get even crazier. It has already got to the point where plastic surgery and those types of procedures are becoming so common that I think it will be a more accessible/fast option in the future. I think there are going to be plastic surgery vending machines where you can go into a booth in a mall and get a nose job, or a quick Botox injection. It will probably be done by a hot looking robot. That, or some skeezy guy with unclean needles.

20140412-145325.jpg
7) I think the future is going to have new foods that engineers have invented or redesigned. I think there are going to be super foods that will be kind of like medicine. You can just eat a banapple and get rid of your cold at the same time!

20140412-145507.jpg
8) I like the idea of hovercraft cars- I just hate the idea of writing it, because it sounds so cliche! But yeah- lets just get it over with and say it… In 10 years there will be hover cars everywhere πŸ™‚

20140412-145655.jpg
9) 3D printers will be used for everything. Want a piece of toast? 3D printer it. Want a new tech gadget? Just print it. New baby brother? Done.

20140412-145825.jpg
10) The best thing about 10 years from now is that we actually have no idea what it will look like. I’m sure Apple will probably have invented a video game console, and who knows, they will probably have someone in the Oval Office too.

20140412-145953.jpg Our houses will be heated by some obscure renewable resource and our cars will run on sunshine and smiles.
I like to think as an educator I have a part to play in our world’s future, as I get to teach the next generation’s leaders. I have stopped teaching them “information” per se, and started to teach them skills that I think they will need in tomorrow’s work force. That includes social skills if you are wondering. (Did you know that I take the first few weeks of Social Studies class each year to teach kids how to shake hands, hold a conversation, and exit a conversation politely?) Even though my students are learning great tech skills that will benefit them for days to come, I hope to also instil and encourage a respectful attitude and polite demeanour that they can take with them to lead tomorrow’s generation.
Have some ideas? Comment below and tell me what YOU think our world will look like in 10 years.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

