5 reasons why living in and with winter is a good thing

Posted on January 5, 2014. Filed under: cultural, personal |

1) Winter helps you learn how to appreciate the sun. I am in Mesa Arizona at the moment-writing this while lounging on a deck chair.
20140105-015206.jpg

We are the only ones at the pool because it is a wee bit cloudy and “only” about 19-20 degrees Celsius. I can appreciate this weather because I just saw THIS post on my friends Instagram. 20140105-015518.jpg

Awful right? I know I can only enjoy this warm weather for a few hours more before going back home to “freeze your skin in minutes” cold. Living in and with winter helps you appreciate the sun.
2) Winter teaches you to be a real neighbour and friend. Over Christmas I had the opportunity of hearing the too familiar sound of tires spinning outside the front window. Sure enough, there was a car stuck; it was trying to get around the corner and couldn’t make it through the fresh powder. It was almost like an internal switch went off in me as I ran to grab my coat, mitts, and boots and ran out to help push. Clearly I am not strong enough to push a car, but something about two extra hands gave that car a supernatural nudge and sure enough, victory was ours… That car was on its way. I barely said you’re welcome and was back in the house. I don’t even know that couple’s name, but yet we share a bond. In that moment, we were a team. We might as well have won an Olympic gold medal together the way we celebrated in that moment, but just as fast as it came, it left, as no one stays out in that dreadful cold longer than they have to. Ironically our enemy, old man winter, bonds us winter dwellers together for short, meaningful little relationships where we are one in purpose and mind fighting against his ugly forces. I bet every human who lives in, and with winter, has at least one story about one of these meaningful winter connections with a stranger.
Furthermore, the cold winter shows off other neighbour-like behaviours. We have a friend who kindly offered to shovel our driveway while we were away.20140105-020159.jpg

What a servant attitude you have to have to offer to do something like this! Lets be honest- no one LIKES bearing the wind and the cold to push a metal shovel full of heavy snow across a frozen concrete slab- only to have to do a series of high performance weight lifting sequences trying to get that snow above your head and onto the growing heap of snow piled high on your once green lawn. Anyone who does THAT for you is a true neighbour and friend. Those of of us who live in, and with winter, know how to be great neighbours and friends.
3) Winter allows you to understand “quiet” in a new way. After a fresh snowfall, the silence that blankets our Arctic tundra is calming. Apparently when snow falls, it traps little air pockets within its banks, and this acts as a sound absorber. I didn’t know this until I started teaching grade 2 and read it in one of our weather units! That explains the still, quiet sound that surrounds you when you walk outdoors after a snowfall. The sound of your voice and footsteps get swallowed up into the winter abyss. Winter allows us to know quiet.
4) Winter teaches your spirit to be thankful. I try to remind myself to be thankful day to day- but as our busy schedules swallow up our time, we forget to be thankful for what we have. Fortunately God gets more glory on the REALLY cold winter days as I can’t help but say a quick prayer of thanks every time I run into my house after having the -45 windchill beat my face. Winter causes us to be thankful.
5) Winter allows us to experience its magical beauty. I believe every person should try to have a ‘favourite’ in each of the 5 senses. Today I will share with you my favourite sight- sparkly snow. If you live in, and with winter, you will know what I mean when I say sparkly snow. It is the snow that dazzles your eyes like a million diamonds when you walk outside. It sparkles everywhere you look and reflects the moon into a kaleidoscope of light. Although summer sunsets and beaches are easy on the eyes, my favourite sight of all is sparkly snow. Winter allows us to take part in its deep magic.

20140105-023654.jpg

Are YOU thankful for living in, and with winter? What’s your reason?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “5 reasons why living in and with winter is a good thing”

RSS Feed for Danielle's blog Comments RSS Feed

Wow I didn’t know that about the snow absorbing sound either…great blog!!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

