For the love of kids

Posted on July 9, 2011. Filed under: educational, personal, reflection, teaching and learning | Tags: , , |

I have been challenged to blog more because of some of the ladies on #kinderchat deciding that THEY want to blog more. I think it’s an excellent idea and I am up for the challenge. The topic this week has to do with some of our first experiences with children and the the first time we think we were considered “teacher.” I am probably one of many teachers who have always been around kids, and liked hanging out with kids wherever and whenever I could, so this was a hard moment to pinpoint.
One of the memories that sticks out for me is when I was a teacher for the four and five year old group at Pioneer Clubs. Pioneer clubs was a church based kids club (Kind of like Awanas) that happened on Wednesday evenings at Faith Baptist Church in Regina SK. The group I taught was called Scooter club. These kids were awesome. They were a fun loving, say anything, play dough loving kind of group. It was my job to teach them about Jesus, do a craft, have them learn a memory verse from the Bible and go to the gym and play a game.
Most teachers can probably admit that sometimes we get good at winging things. It’s not ALWAYS a sign of poor planning, but I’m not going to lie, in this circumstance, it was. I didn’t really have a good game planned, so when we got to the gym, I winged it. (grammar?!) We had learned about the creation story that day and so instead of just playing British bulldog, I called the game “trees” and the person in the middle had to be a tree, and their branches had to reach out and try and catch people when they ran by. Instead of yelling British bulldog, they yelled trees, and that was that. They really loved that game, and almost every week they wanted to play it again and again. I would have totally forgot about that night and that game if it hadn’t been for quite a few years later. I can’t remember exactly what I was doing; I might have been teaching Sunday school, or walking by the gym when kids were playing, but I remember being in the gym with some children and hearing them playing the game “trees.”  I was shocked. This random game I made up quite a few years earlier was still being played by kids, and it was still called trees! Who knows, maybe I will be sued by the makers of British bulldog for using their game and calling it something else! But I thought it was awesome that I started something that really caught on!
If I really want to be reflective in this post, this story makes me think of my daily job as a teacher in a more clear fashion. Our job as teachers isn’t always to make up new and exciting, innovative and creative activities every day. Most times the REALLY good stuff is already out there! It’s just our job to re-name it, or re-face it and to make it exciting for the personalities and individuals in our classroom! Taking things that work and making them work for us is one of our many jobs as teachers. And when it comes down to it, we do it all for the love of kids.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “For the love of kids”

RSS Feed for Danielle's blog Comments RSS Feed

I love this quote, “Our job as teachers isn’t always to make up new and exciting, innovative and creative activities every day. Most times the REALLY good stuff is already out there! It’s just our job to re-name it, or re-face it and to make it exciting for the personalities and individuals in our classroom! This past year was my first year teaching Kindergarten and I was left with very little plans from the previous teachers, as this is a private school abroad this is very common, I had to improvise and come up with everything new and exciting, it’s exhausting!! I did alot of borrowing from other teachers and just re-naming it to fit my classes. Talk about a life saver!

Liz thank you so much for the comment. Constructive, encouraging comments are the best motivator to becoming a better blogger!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

