Houses for the price of mansions

Posted on April 9, 2010. Filed under: House hunting, personal |

Jon and I tried to put our first offer on our house today.  We want an old, outdated house that we can work on. We only need about 1000 square feet, and we don’t even need the basement done yet.  We had heard through a friend about a house that wasn’t even on the market yet.  It was an estate sale, and the people actually let us have the first look through.  We had really shown our interest and Jon and I were thinking and planning of lots of things we could do with it.  We were wishing/praying for $200, 000 but realistically knew that it could be anywhere between that and $220,000 maybe even $230,000 but that was getting a little high.  We had decided that we weren’t going to go past $220,000.  So, they walked us around the house and showed us everything again to refresh our memory.

We got back to the kitchen and I half jokingly, half seriously asked how much they were going to sell it to us for.  Her answer… $253,500!  I honestly didn’t know what to say.  $250,000 for an old house that doesn’t have a basement and that we would need to COMPLETELY change?  What can I say.  I am discouraged, shocked, angry and sad all at the same time.  Anyone know of any outdated houses in Regina that are not over priced?

Something we would like to own.

What we can afford apparently…

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Houses for the price of mansions”

RSS Feed for Danielle's blog Comments RSS Feed

We’re in the process of selling an older home. The difference is our house is entirely redone and is about 2,000 sq feet with a finished basement and double garage. We’re hoping to get around 300,000 so 250,00 for one that needs work seems out of whack. I didn’t think Moose Jaw and Regina were that far about but I don’t really know. I’m hoping we sell our soon. Good luck with buying.

Thanks Dean! Good luck selling your house as well. If you want to sell it to me for 250,000 I’ll buy it from you! 🙂

I can totally understand your frustration! My husband and I have been considering purchasing our first home and have been saving for a while. The way prices keep going up and up (along with rent and mortgage rates), I am starting to wonder if we are ever going to find a home! I don’t know of any great deals, but I will let you know if I find one. Good luck with your search!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

