What the Hack?

Posted on March 31, 2010. Filed under: educational, reflection, Technology |

Tonight I did an online presentation on hacking, social engineering, phishing and malicious code and how it relates to teachers and learners.  This project was for my ED computers class.  For the past couple months I have been researching and trying to figure out the ins and outs of hacking.  I learned so much and had to try and condense it to a short 15 minute presentation.  I narrowed it down to the who, what when, where, and why of hacking.  I was even able to trick my fellow classmate into giving me her username and password.  I know I am a horrible person- but I did it to prove my point.  Social Engineering is one of the most important tools hackers use to get personal information, and all they do is sucker you in!  Social Engineering basically elicits personal information or passwords from you- and you freely give it over.  Basically all I said was I was locked out of our class Ning and could someone give me their username and password.  Needless to say, it worked!

The most important thing we can do online is to be critical.  You can have the best firewall in the world, but YOU are always the weakest link.  Check out the presentation here.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “What the Hack?”

RSS Feed for Danielle's blog Comments RSS Feed

Your not a horrible person, I like the idea that you managed to get your friend to give you their username and password. Friend or not, a person has to be careful to whom you give such information too, as even a friend could hack into your account.

I liked reading your blog as well as viewing the presentation. I think you are totally right when you say we can have the best firewall in the world, and still get tricked into giving information out!

I really enjoyed your presentation Danielle! I think it is an important issue that everyone should know about. You seemed to really know your stuff and I learned lots from it, so thank you!

Thanks guys. Learning about this kind of online safety has really opened my eyes to security and what I can be doing to keep mysel and my information safe. Hopefully it will help you as well!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

