Consumerism

Posted on January 7, 2009. Filed under: reflection | Tags: , , |

Over the Christmas break I decided to get a job because I had one whole month off of University.  How wonderful I thought! No finals, I might as well get a job… bad idea.  First of all, I feel like I didn’t have a break at all, and second, I worked retail.

I learned a lot while working at Ricki’s clothing store in the mall, but more than anything I saw consumerism in a new way.  Our store gears their clothes to 20-30 year old business women.  The clothes are quite expensive, but made well.  As I got better at being a sales person I found myself lying to people saying things like, “you can never have too many black sweaters” or “that looks so good on you” even when I didn’t like the shirt at all.  I have helped convince people to buy something when their first reaction walking out of the change room was disgust.  I was a catalyst for consumerism.  Our goal for Ricki’s this year was to reach 1.5 million in sales at our store.  We got there 2 months early! (Year end is in February)  What is wrong with our world? All I hear is talk about the recession, and financial crisis, yet we are bigger consumers now then ever!  We surpassed all of our last years sales goals even though this year we are apparently in financial crisis!

Did you know that in Canada alone, people spend 35 billion on Christmas presents?  Do you want to know something numbing?  The estimated cost to solve the world’s water shortage is 13 billion.  Check out this video about Christmas and consumerism… think about it, even though Christmas is over.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

