Teen Girls

Posted on August 8, 2008. Filed under: educational, personal, reflection |

Suicide, rape, drugs, alcohol, sex.  These are normal words now a days. WHY?!? What kind of impact to we as teachers, youth leaders, parents and friends have on the teenagers we are in contact with?  Sometimes I feel like no matter how much we care for them, or instruct them, or warn them, they still fall into trouble.  When we send kids to high school, we are sometimes sending them into a waiting death trap.  There is so much crap in high schools these days it makes me sick.  It breaks my heart to know that beautiful young teenage girls can get walked all over by high school guys who think they have the right to do whatever they want.  It makes me sick that rape is more common than we think.  It makes me sick that drugs and alcohol are the NORM in high schools today.  It makes me sick that majority of high schools kids can probably name one person they know who has been killed before the time they reach age 20.

Where have we gone so wrong? What can we do to fix any of this? The cheerleaders I coach, the youth group girls I work with all face the same issues… self confidence, pressures of sex, the pressure to drink.  Don’t get me wrong, these were all issues I faced in high school as well, but why do they seem to be so much harder to overcome now then they were even 5 years ago?

I want teen girls to know that they are SO valuable.  I want them to know that they are made in the image of God and that they are worth something!  I want them to know that they don’t have to be physical with guys to be accepted.  I want them to know that the way they live their life can make them unique… NOT the crazy shirt they wear to try and make a statement.

I am going to try and be an example to the teen girls I come in contact with and I pray that God will do a mighty work in high school girl’s lives.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Teen Girls”

RSS Feed for Danielle's blog Comments RSS Feed

Danielle,
With an attitude like yours, you will certainly make a difference. Stay true to your beliefs, show your students that you truly care for them, and you will make a difference … even if only in a few lives … it will all be worth it.

Take care.

It’s a matter of personality and choice. I honestly don’t feel sorry for teenage girls who get themselves into bad situations. Why? Because I was there and I DIDN’T do the wrong thing even though it pressed in on me from every side.

I remember sitting in art class (in a homeschool program, no less) where the guy next to me was shouting at some dealer across the room about how much it would cost him for an ounce of whatever drug he was so keen on buying. The teacher didn’t even notice. Not to mention after class was “pot time” where I got invited by my “friend” to go across the street from the school and smoke pot in the bushes (I always declined). It quickly became a normal thing to me to hear that sort of talk regularly. And what was funny was that the only people who would give me a second glance were the kids who did drugs! Everybody else didn’t want anything to do with me.

Drugs, sex, and so on, are SO easily accessible. Even if you don’t have a job or the money, you can find SOME way to get what you want. People—parents in particular—just don’t seem to understand that.

The fact is, you DON’T have to do any of it. I’m 18. Never done drugs in my life, never been in a relationship, even though I was surrounded by drugs and hormonal teenagers on a constant basis for two years. It’s a choice. And I have to say for me it was a really easy one, which is probably why I have very little sympathy for girls who get into that sort of thing.

Tell them the consequences of their actions. Pregnancy. Overdose. Tell them that all those people who harrass them in highschool are going to be NOBODIES when they enter into the real world.

The ultimate decision…that’s up to them.

Your blog is interesting!

Keep up the good work!

Good program on Oprah about, part, of this topic http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_cA3vaRNH8A&feature=related
They recommended this book for teens
https://www.gavindebecker.com/books-gof.cfm


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

