Here it comes

Posted on January 2, 2008. Filed under: reflection |

The new semester is coming quick and I am trying to get myself into school mode.  I still have so much to do that should have been done over Christmas break… oops! As I reflect on the past semester I realize how my views of education have been challenged and molded. Not so much from the theorists and philosophers, but from my profs and my peers.  I never knew I was so easily motivated by people’s opinions and ideas, but I see myself being changed in front of my own eyes.  I took a Kinesiology class this past semester that emphasized health and wellness in children and adults.  We as teachers and role models, were encouraged to change our lifestyle so we can be an example to the kids.  It has worked! My fiancee and I have decided to exercise daily, and not eat junk food before our wedding.  I know that there will be times where a chocolate bar is needed or there is a day without some push-ups, but I truly want to try and get healthier; for myself, and my future students.

The one thing I am really excited for this next semester is our class discussions.  I find that I get along quite well with education students, and I love hearing their ideas for change in “the classroom.”  I am also taking two non-education classes which will be interesting.  I am taking a Christianity class and a Philosophy class.  I can’t wait to see what other ways I will be challenged to grow this semester. 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

