The end is nearing

Posted on November 28, 2007. Filed under: reflection |

It is getting close to the end of school and I am glad.  I feel like I am getting more stressed out and less motivated.  I don’t want to rush through the end of school yet on the other hand, I want to be done.  When I look back and reflect on this semester I realize the amount of knowledge I have gained.  In some instances, the education program seems so obvious.  Be nice to kids, don’t judge them, treat everyone fairly etc.  But then it’s the little things you realize about yourself that make the impact.  You realize that you have perceptions and judgments of the world that are a little off kilter.  Some of the ideas that you are instilled with growing up are challenged and brought to life.  These are the things that I love reflecting on when looking back.  My philosophy on teaching has changed, and I didn’t even realize it.  It will be interesting to look back after four years, and really see my growth and development as a teacher.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “The end is nearing”

RSS Feed for Danielle's blog Comments RSS Feed

The transformation that you will go through over the next 4 years will be one that you never thought could happen. I am in my third year, and have looked back to my EPS 100 portfolio and read my philosophy. When I take that one and compare it to mine now, the amount of changes that occured is amazing. Back then I was all about curriculum and lecture, where as now It is all about Experiences, Contextualizing concepts and making learning real. Students will understand better once they actually see that the material has some what of a relation to their real life. I encourage you to update you philosophy every semester, not just once a year.

I think that is so true. Your outlook and the way you perceive events around you changes so slowly that you never even notice that your perspective is not the same as when you started. Good luck next semester.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

