back to camp

Posted on September 24, 2007. Filed under: personal |

This summer was an interesting one as I worked at Good Spirit Bible Camp. It was a really wonderful summer but it had quite the tragic end. You may or may not have heard about it on the news, but the second last week of camp, at First Nations’ Junior camp, a 10 year old boy drowned. He had run away from the group, and we spent an hour looking for him throughout the provincial park. I had just arrived at the beach as they were pulling him out of the water. I knelt on the shore holding his legs as they did CPR on him. The breath was going in ok and he had a pulse, so I was sure he was going to be ok. The ambulance took him to Yorkton hospital and about three hours later we found out he didn’t make it. This was so rough for me. We had trauma counselors come in for us staff, and the kids (who thankfully were still at the camp when he was found) but I still struggled a lot with images in my head and really scary dreams. This past weekend I was asked to go back and be a youth leader for a youth retreat at Good Spirit. It went well but it was the first time I had been back since we left suddenly after the accident. I went down to the beach this weekend and had a good cry, and walked around a bit. It was tough but it was so good to have some closure. I really feel like God has healed my heart in this time and used this horrible situation for good.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

